Business law

We have one of the largest criminal law for business enterprises in Norway.

Read more

Cases can either be companies that have had a fine or similar imposed by the prosecuting authorities pursuant to the rules on fines and seizure/confiscation relevant to enterprises or companies that wish to pursue a private criminal case in which they are the injured party.

It has become more usual that the prosecuting authorities pursue companies when there is a suspicion that one or more individuals has or have committed a punishable offence. This can be extremely detrimental to the company concerned, not solely due to the imposed fine, but also in relation to the loss of reputation and consequences under public law, such as a ban on participating in bid competitions and so forth.

Corporate punishment is something that can be imposed, but is not a mandatory result. We represent some of Norway’s largest enterprises, both private and public, and have specialised in matters relating to corporate punishment in all Norwegian law courts.

We are also very aware that the police often shelve criminal cases due to lack of capacity where to pursue these in a criminal court would be a major advantage to the public good. Such cases can, to a certain degree, be dealt with by the courts at the request of the company involved, and in such case we take the role of prosecutor. Examples of such cases are theft, embezzlement, disloyalty or blackmail that are not pursued by the public prosecution service for economic reasons.

Our specialists


John Christian Elden

Lawyer Oslo 909 30 775 j.c.elden@elden.no Read more

Karen Forbrigd

Lawyer Oslo 950 47 448 karen.forbrigd@elden.no Read more

Anders Brosveet

Lawyer Oslo 920 35 100 anders.brosveet@elden.no Read more

Thomas Berge

Lawyer Oslo 970 02 700 thomas.berge@elden.no Read more

Nadia Christina Hall

Lawyer Oslo 908 45 990 nadia.hall@elden.no Read more

Gunhild Bergan

Lawyer Oslo 920 29 810 gunhild.bergan@elden.no Read more

Håkon Juell Hassel

Lawyer Oslo 936 86 169 h.j.hassel@elden.no Read more

Mette-Julie Sundby

Lawyer Oslo 951 67 745 mette-julie.sundby@elden.no Read more

Max Henrik Jespersen

Lawyer Oslo 932 31 374 m.h.jespersen@elden.no Read more

Torbjørn Kolås Sognefest

Lawyer Bergen 905 00 733 t.k.sognefest@elden.no Read more

Erik Ulvesæter

Lawyer Bergen 928 11 680 erik.ulvesaeter@elden.no Read more

Einar Brask

Lawyer Oslo 982 06 207 einar.brask@elden.no Read more

Svein Kjetil Svendsen

Lawyer Stavanger 450 20 572 s.k.svendsen@elden.no Read more

Kim Ellertsen

Lawyer Oslo 997 23 515 kim.ellertsen@elden.no Read more

Rasmus D. Woxholt

Lawyer Oslo 911 29 186 r.d.woxholt@elden.no Read more

Arnt Angell

Lawyer Oslo 916 46 005 arnt.angell@elden.no Read more